Territorial organisation of Guatemala

Regions of Guatemala | GuatexplorerIt is good to be familiar with a territorial organisation of this country because you'll encounter references to it when travelling within the borders of this Central American Country. After all, it is not so complicated: regions – departments – municipalities. Three levels exist and are implemented in daily life here.


Here is a list of regions with their departments:

  1. Metropolitan region: Guatemala City department
  2. North Region: departments of Baja (Lower) and Alta (Higher) Verapaz
  3. Northeast region: departments of Chiquimula, El Progreso, Izabal and Zacapa
  4. Southeast region: Jutiapa, Jalapa and Santa Rosa
  5. Central region: Chimaltenango, Sacatepéquez and Escuintla
  6. Southwest region: departments of Quetzaltenango, Retalhuleu, San Marcos, Suchitepéquez, Sololá and Totonicapán (roughly the biggest part of the Highlands)
  7. Northwest region: Huehuetenango and Quiché departments
  8. Petén region with Petén department (largest by territory).

It is not always that biggest city is the capital of some department. Also, there are 320 municipalities that are the basic type of organisation, every one of them has its „alcalde“ (mayor) and covers basic needs of the population.

A territorial division used by the INGUAT for tourism purposes slightly differs from this administrative division. It has six areas of interest: Caribbean, Central Highlands, Northern Lowlands, Western Highlands, Eastern Guatemala and Pacific Lowlands regions.

Regions of Guatemala | Guatexplorer

Departments of Guatemala | Guatexplorer



has created and maintaines Guatexplorer.

© 2011 - 2017 Guatexplorer. All Rights Reserved.

Donate Guatexplorer

If you consider the contents of this site worthwhile, please support us in creating even better content. You choose the amount!


Contact Us

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Guatexplorer Main Feed Guatexplorer Main Feed